What's the purpose of sifting flour?

Sifting dry ingredients serves two purposes: the first is to prevent clumps for better mixing and a finer, lighter texture. The second is for more accurate measuring when using measuring cups rather than a scale; sifting the flour beforehand fluffs it up, changing how much flour is scooped per cup