Why is dynamite called t. n. t.?

It is the abbreviation for the chemical name of dynamite's active ingredient, TriNitroToluene.

---

It shouldn't be. They are two different things. Alfred Nobel invented dynamite (from Greek dynamis, “power”) and was granted patents for it in Great Britain (1867) and the United States (1868). T.N.T. is a different compound that was invented in 1863 by German chemist Julias Wilbrand.