Where are the red fern grows?

"Where the Red Fern Grows" is a novel set in the Ozarks about a boy and his two hunting dogs. The actual red fern is Southern Grapefern (Sceptridium biternatum) which grows in the Ozarks and turns a deep maroon red in the fall.