What is maca?

The maca plant, known scientifically as Lepidium meyenii, is sometimes referred to as Peruvian ginseng. Maca is a cruciferous vegetable related to broccoli, cauliflower, cabbage, and kale. Maca is native to the high plateaus of the Peruvian Andes mountain range.