Where do brown chicken eggs come from?

The color of the egg depends on the breed of the chicken. The chickens of all breeds can come in various colors. It's debatable if their ear lobe color is an indication of laying brown eggs; however, some use that as a sign of chickens being able to lay brown eggs within their breed.