How do you cook raw beans?

Most raw beans are purchased as dried beans. The common method of cooking dried beans is to cover with water and soak overnight. Then pour off the soaking water, cover beans with fresh water and bring to a boil. Simmer for an hour or more depending on the type of beans and how fresh they are.