How long is germany?

Assuming length refers to vertical distance, Germany is 521 miles (838 km), north to south. Germany's northern most point is at 54°54 mins North latitude. The southern most point is: 47°16 mins North. At 69 miles per degree of latitude, that equates to 521 miles, north to south.