Who said comparison is the thief of joy?

While this saying has been attributed to Theodore Roosevelt, Mark Twain, and C. S. Lewis, there is no substantive evidence supporting any of these. The earliest exact match found by Quote Investigator appeared in the 2003 book, “Are You Following Jesus Or Just Fooling Around?” by Dr. Ray Cummings.