Why is a thousand dollars called a grand?

The word Grand first appears around 1915 in the American underworld as slang. It was one of a number of words used like c-note for $100 and sawbuck for $10. In 1915, a thousand dollars was a large sum of money to the average person. People paid tribute to this "grand" amount and the name stuck.