Who invented the heat pump?

Robert C. Webber, an American inventor, is credited with building the first heat pump during the late 1940s. Webber got the idea for the heat pump by accident when he was experimenting with his deep freezer, and burned his hand after unintentionally touching the outlet pipes of the cooling system.