What year did king edward abdicate from the throne?

King Edward the VIII abdicated the throne on December 11, 1936.

---

King Edward the Eighth abdicated the throne on December 10th, 1936. He abdicated the throne in order to marry a twice divorced woman Wallis Simpson who would not have been acceptable as Queen. In 1937 Edward became known as the Duke of Windsor.