When did tamagotchis come out?

The original Tamagotchi was a virtual pet created in Japan by Akihiro Yokoi of WiZ Co. Ltd., and Aki Maita of Bandai Co. Ltd. It was released in Japan in 1996, then in America and Europe in 1997.