What is the meaning of fallout?

Fallout is generally mentioned as the after-effects of a bombing where fires, deadly gases, and outer conditions that are deadly to humans. With the advent of the atomic bomb, the major concern of fallout was the radioactive particles in the air and on the ground which could kill or injure.