How much does a whole ham weigh?

A whole ham will typically weigh 18 to 20 pounds and includes both the "butt" end and the "shank" end. The "butt end" is the upper part of the ham, more "rump" and thus more fatty. The "shank end" is the lower end, more leg and less fatty. The shank end has just one bone so is easier to slice.