What is a king charles cavalier dog?

The Cavalier King Charles Spaniel is a British breed of toy spaniel dog. Four colors are recognized: Blenheim, tricolor, black and tan, and ruby; the coat is smooth and silky. The lifespan is usually between eight and twelve years.