How do you get mud out of carpet?

If it is dry vacuum up the dry mud. If it is still wet grab a scrub brush and some warm or hot soapy water (dawn works best) And scrub. Have a towel handy to damp up the wetness from the carpet until the carpet gets clean. Repeat as many times as necessary.