What percentage of fresh water is in the great lakes?

The Great Lakes are entirely Fresh Water lakes. They hold about 90% of the freshwater in the United States and approximately 20% of the world's freshwater supply. Forty million residents of the United States and Canada depend on this system for clean drinking water.