What's the origin of festivus?

Daniel O'Keefe Sr. originally invented Festivus as a way to have a holiday that was secular and not burdened by the religious and commercialism of the holiday season. The show Seinfeld where Dan O’Keefe Jr. worked made Festivus popular.