How long does it take for paint to go bad?

6 months to a year. After that, buy fresh paint! Paint may last longer, depending on how tightly it is capped, storage temperature, humidity and temperature variations. It will start to dry out and the pigments will settle. Even if you stir it to spread the pigments, they may have changed.