How long does it take bread to cool?

Rolls will take only about 20 minutes to cool. Bread baked in a loaf pan can take as long as 1 hour, and a large free-form loaf can take as long as 1 and a half hours to cool.

---

It's important to allow bread to cool all the way, or until it's just barely warm, to complete the cooking process before cutting. Rolls will take only about 20 minutes to cool. Bread baked in a loaf pan can take as long as 1 hour and a large free-form loaf can take as long as 1 1/2 hours to cool.