What makes water freeze?

Water freezes when it’s molecules slow down enough to hook onto each other, forming a solid crystal.

---

Freezing happens when the molecules of a liquid get so cold that they slow down enough to hook onto each other, forming a solid crystal. For pure water, this happens at 32 degrees Fahrenheit, 0 degrees Celsius, or 273 Kelvin.