Who is the great ghost?

You may have the name confused. The Gray Ghost was the nickname of John S. Mosby, a Colonel in the Confederate army who used unconventional guerilla-style tactics. The name Gray Ghost has also been used for other people and also ships. There is a movie called "The Great Ghost Rescue".