Is hennessy a bourbon?

Contrary to popular belief, Hennessy is not a whiskey. It is a Cognac, which is a type of brandy. Hennessy Cognac is made from grapes, not barley or wheat. Both Cognac and whiskey are distilled and aged in oak barrels, but the similarities end there.