Where does peppercorn come from?

Peppercorns are actually a tiny fruit, the drupe (a fruit with a single seed in the middle) of a flowering vine known as piper nigrum, grown in tropical regions, native to the India. Some of the best peppercorns in the world come from the Malabar Coast in the Indian state of Kerala.