How do you build a fire in minecraft?

To make a campfire, place 3 sticks, 1 charcoal or 1 coal, and 3 wood or 3 logs in the 3x3 crafting grid. When making a campfire, it is important that the items are placed in the exact pattern as the image below. In the first row, there should be 1 stick in the middle box.