What's the difference between instant yeast and regular yeast?

The main differences between the two are: Active yeast needs rehydration. Instant yeast can be mixed directly into dry ingredients, whereas active dry yeast must first be dissolved and rehydrated in warm water. Instant yeast needs less time to rise.