What is in a fire extinguisher?

What is inside a fire extinguisher depends on what sort of extinguisher it is. Some are filled with water, others with CO2. Still others have special foam or powder that suffocates a fire. Still another type uses wet potassium acetate. It just depends on which type of extinguisher you have.