What is a whale's fluke?

A whale's tail is called its flukes. ... A whale's tail is composed of two lobes, each of which is called a fluke. There is a notch, a v-shaped indentation where the flukes (or lobes) of a whale's tail meet. Flukes move up and down to propel the whale through the water.