How long does it take for cyanide to kick in?

It takes only a few minutes. Levels of 0.5 to 1 milligram per liter are mild, 1 to 2 mg are moderate, 2 to 3 mg are severe, and greater than 3 mg generally result in death. Poisoning is relatively common following breathing in smoke from a house fire. Cyanide interferes with cellular respiration.