Is aioli the same as mayonnaise?

Traditional aioli is essentially a garlic oil, and not mayonnaise, nor a garlic flavored mayonnaise. A classic mayonnaise involves the emulsion of egg yolk and oil. Nowadays, it is often just a simple mayonnaise that is flavored generously with garlic—a nod to its origins.