Who founded saint petersburg florida?

Settlement began as early as the 1840s, but the community actually dates from 1875, when John C. Williams of Detroit, Michigan, purchased land in the area. He and Peter Demens, who built a railroad that reached the site in 1888, founded the city, and it was named for Demens’s birthplace in Russia.