Why are there jokers in the deck of cards?

The Joker cards were introduced to card decks around the time of the American Civil War and were used as trump cards in the game of Euchre. Around 1875, the game of poker adopted the Joker as a Wild Card. They have been a standard part of playing card decks since the 1940's.