Who is the first person to make french fries?

French fries have been traced back to Belgium, where historians claim thin potato strips were being fried in the late-1600s. Belgians often ate fried fish, but reverted to potatoes when rivers froze and fish weren't available. France didn't accept potatoes as a viable food source until mid-1700s.