What's the difference between fluid ounces and regular ounces?

Fluid ounces measure volume and regular ounces measure weight. While one fluid ounce of water weighs very close to one ounce, that's not true for all liquids. For example, 1 fluid ounce of olive oil weighs less than 1 ounce, while 1 fluid ounce of molasses weighs more.

---

One is volume and the other is weight. The fluid ounce measures the volume of a liquid, while the regular ounce measures the weight of a solid.