How long was j. edgar hoover the director of the f. b. i.?

According to Wikipedia, J. Edgar Hoover was appointed director of the Bureau of Investigation – the FBI's predecessor – in 1924 and was instrumental in founding the FBI in 1935, where he remained director for another 37 years until his death in 1972 at the age of 77.