How does romaine lettuce get ecoli?

E Coli is found in the guts of humans and animals and is believed to be transmitted to romaine lettuce via manure or fertilizer used in the growing process. Lettuce is at particular risk as many people eat it raw after a simple rinse with water. Cooking vegetables kills E Coli.