What's a denver omelet?

Almost everyone agrees that it should have chopped onion and chopped bell pepper cooked into the egg (preferably a combination of red and green bell pepper). Most people would expect small cubes of ham in there too. Whether or not it should have cheese as a filling or a topping is up for debate.