What color is a female cardinal?

A female cardinal is a brownish color with red on it’s chest.

---

Female cardinals have a mixture of duller shades of gray, brown, and red because they do not have to impress potential mates with the bright colors and elaborate posturing observed in males.

---

Female cardinals are tan-brown

---

The are brown

---

Female cardinals are pale brown overall with warm reddish tinges in the wings, tail, and crest.