Who discovered the moon?

Galileo Galilei In late 1609 he discovered that the Moon had mountains and valleys, like Earth. He made the first scientific measurement of lunar topography, and recognized that the dark areas, which he named maria (Latin for “seas”), were lower and smoother than the brighter regions