How long do you blanch green beans?

Bring water to boil in a large saucepan over high heat. Fill a large bowl with ice and water. Add the green beans, return to boil, and cook until beans are bright green and crisp-tender, 3 minutes. Transfer beans immediately to the bowl of ice water.