How do whiskers help cats?

A cat's whiskers, or vibrissae, are a sensory tool that help a cat see in the dark and steer clear of predators. Whiskers are GPS and radar systems for your cat. There’s also a sensory organ at the tip of each whisker that picks up vibrations in the environment to help the cat sense its surroundings