What does it mean to call someone country?

To call someone "country" is to reference a stereotype of a person who lives and works outside of the city limits in the countryside. The stereotype of "country" can include being simple minded, working with animals or on a farm, being one who enjoys country music, flannel, cowboy hats, and boots.