What is eight i. stand for?

Eight I most likely refers to Marine Barracks Washington, D.C., also known as "8th & I," the oldest active post in the Marine Corps. Founded by Thomas Jefferson in 1801. Located on the corners of 8th & I Streets in southeast Washington, D.C., the Barracks supports ceremonial and security missions.