Is light the fastest thing in the universe?

Yes. And No. Einstein's theory of special relativity, which is solidly backed by experimental evidence, holds that nothing can be accelerated past the speed of light. But the math also allows purely hypothetical particles, called tachyons, that can never be decelerated to go slower than light.