How much iron does it take to make an anvil?

To make an anvil in Minecraft, place 3 blocks of iron and 4 iron ingots in the 3x3 crafting grid. When making an anvil, it is important that the blocks of iron and iron ingots are placed in the exact pattern as the image below. In the first row, there should be 3 blocks of iron.