What was the copperhead in the civil war?

Per Wikipedia, in the 1860s, the Copperheads were a faction of Democrats in the Union who opposed the Civil War and wanted immediate peace with the Confederates. Republicans called anti-war Democrats "Copperheads", meaning they were venomous snakes.