How many years did it take to make the first avatar?

Avatar was originally written by James Cameron in 1994. The primary reason for Avatar's 15-year development is that the technology of the late 1990s wasn't good enough to cope with the demands of his concept. Therefore, Avatar did not premiere until 2009.