Which direction should a ceiling fan go?

To cool the room, a ceiling fan should spin counter-clockwise. In the winter, running the fan in reverse, or clockwise, will spread warm air around the room.

---

A ceiling fan should rotate counterclockwise in the summer so that the blades push cooler air down in a column.