Are coconuts a type of nut?

Despite its deceiving name, a coconut is a fruit not a nut. A coconut is a type of drupe, which are defined as fruits that have an inner flesh and seed surrounded by a hard shell. This includes a other fruits, such as peaches, pears, walnuts, and almonds.