Does coffee dehydrate?

Coffee is a diuretic and will dehydrate you.

---

Coffee contains caffeine, which has a diuretic effect and causes your body to make more urine than usual. However, coffee is unlikely to dehydrate you unless you are consuming over 500 mg per day, the same as 5 cups of coffee. So although coffee makes you urinate more, it shouldn’t dehydrate you.